Alaska - Fall in Alaska - Reisverslag uit Kasilof, Verenigde Staten van Marielle Bouma - WaarBenJij.nu Alaska - Fall in Alaska - Reisverslag uit Kasilof, Verenigde Staten van Marielle Bouma - WaarBenJij.nu

Alaska - Fall in Alaska

Door: Marielle

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marielle

26 September 2018 | Verenigde Staten, Kasilof

Two and a half weeks on the same location... on one hand it is heaven to sleep in the same bed and have a warm home on the other hand it starts to itch :-) I have had a great time with the family in Kasilof (John, Katie, Elena and Catherine. Thank you!!!). I integrated fully in farm life and harvested potatoes, onions, carrots, green beans, cucumbers, root beets and lots of tomatoes. The sleddogs (22!) are beautiful and utmost sweet, including the two oldies in the house. Special to see how these dogs are kept. And than there is Norman, the cat. He stayed with me in the room above the garage and liked to sit very close to my face when laying in bed and pur. Something I for sure will miss as well as the excellent cooking of Katie and John :-) During my stay I visited Homer with Elena and Berit (my successor), a very nice day with beautiful wheather and excellent views of Kachemak Bay and Homer Spit. On my final day in Kasilof I was so lucky to get on the back of the four wheeler with John to run some dogs (they go extremely fast!) and do a hike with beatiful sights of the Shilak lake.

Fully rested and zen it was time to continue my trip to Fairbanks in the middle of Alaska where I hope to see the aurora borealis (northern lights). Unfortunately there are no buses to Anchorage, therefore I shared a ride from Kasilof to Anchorage with Scott whom I found via Craigslist on the internet. It was a beautiful ride despite the bad wheather with good company (thanks Scott!). In the afternoon I visit the Anchorage museum which covers many topics related to Alaska like Inuit and Indian culture, oil in Alaska, the Arctic circle, gold mining, the second world, etc. In the shuttle bus to Fairbanks the next day I am the only passenger up to Denali National Park. Unfortunately the park is already closed for visitors and there is no possibility to access the park without your own car... Around 3 o'clock I arrive at Billies Backpackers Hostel in Fairbanks after seeing the landscape change slowly. Were there still yellow leaves on the trees in Anchorage, these have disappeared in Fairbanks. Winter is coming soon! Billy is very kind and welcoming and I expect to have a very nice time here until my flight (there are no buses...) on October 2nd to Victoria, Vancouver Island.

Travelling through Alaska I can say that it is very remote and not highly populated. This is for many people the reason to live here. Most are man and the average Alaskan man has a ZZ-top beard (apparently this keeps the face warm in the winter...). Many of these man live in RVs/caravans and of the grid (no running water and electricity), incredible if you consider the conditions in winter. And than the fishing... Fishing is a big thing here! As most guys on Tinder in The Netherlands pose with their speeding bike, here in Alaska they pose with a fresh caught fish. Both are not very attractive ;-)

Overall there is a special vibe around here and nature is amazing. The fall started two weeks ago and almost all trees are yellow on the Kenai Peninsula and naked here in Fairbanks. A beautiful time of the year! Will be sorry to leave Alaska in one week...

Until next time! Hasta luego!
Marielle

Actief sinds 26 April 2018
Verslag gelezen: 189
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7285

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Juli 2018 - 08 Juli 2019

One-Year-of-Freedom

14 Juni 2018 - 25 Juni 2018

Oerol

Landen bezocht: