Mexico - On my way South - Reisverslag uit Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico van Marielle Bouma - WaarBenJij.nu Mexico - On my way South - Reisverslag uit Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico van Marielle Bouma - WaarBenJij.nu

Mexico - On my way South

Door: Marielle

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marielle

06 Januari 2019 | Mexico, Oaxaca de Juárez

After only 17 hours and 3 buses I arrive at my hostel in Guanajuato. Guanajuato is beautiful with many ancient buildings and coloured houses, it feels a bit like Rome. It is especially known for its tunnels that cross through town and the music in the streets. Makes it all very lifely at night with the many tourists, though in my hostel there are only few people. Christmas is like a normal day in Guanajuato and at night I have dinner with Felix from Germany. A different Christmas dinner than normal but far from home Christmas is also far away. Everything in Guanajuato is within walking distance and El Mirador gives a beautiful oversight of the small historic centre. The Museo de las Mumias is really something I have never seen before... The mummies are not very old (some born in second half of 20th century) and many look like they did not die very peacefully...I also wonder whether these people would have considered to be stared at in a museum... Though the number of visitors (mainly Mexicans) is huge. Since my recovery from troat infection and severe cold is taking ages, I decide to take it easy and stay an extra day in Guanajuato. I visit the Don Quijote (or Don Quixote or Don Quichot) museum, it contains a collection of Sir Ferror who dedicated his life to assembe every piece of art related to Don Quijote. Special hobby which resulted in a funny collection.

Before I go to Mexico City I make an in between stop in San Miguel de Allende. By some the town is described as Disney World inhabited by old Americans. I am positively surprised and do not see many old Americans. The houses are all painted in similar colours which are somewhere between ocher yellow and dark red/brown and the churches are beautiful. I spend the afternoon in town and enjoy watching all the Mexican families. For dinner I buy carrots, onions and a potato for 22 pesos (around 1 euro) and make "hutspot" (Dutch dish) in the hostel (La Catrina Hostel, nice hostel!). Something different from the Mexican food :-)

The bus brings me to Terminal Norte and from there I take 3 metros to arrive in Condesa where my hostel is located. The Stayinn Barefoot Hostel is a nice hostel and though it is a bit impersonal, I meet nice people here. Since my health is still recovering I start nearby with visiting the Bosque de Chapultepec, a beautiful park. I visit Castillo de Chapultepec which is situated on a small hill with nice views of the city. Mexicans enter for free so it is very crowded. Same applies for the Museo National de Antropologica which is incredibly big with many different expositions. Almost impossible to visit all. Outside the museum there is an impressive performance of 4 men descending from a turning 20 meter long pole hanging on a rope by their feet, at the top number 5 is making special music (maybe you have to check the photo to have a better visualization ;-)). On the last day of the year I visit the impressive city centre which is suitable for such a big capital with more inhabitants (23 million) than the whole of the Netherlands. Afterwards I have a nice evening at the hostel where we order food from Uber Eats but I still do not feel well and have an early night. I am happy that all holidays are now finished! Together with Frauke from Germany and Ben from the USA we leave Mexico City to visit the biggest city from the past, Teotihuacan. With metro and bus it takes around 1,5 hours to arrive in Teotihuacan with its Piramide del Sol and Piramide de la Luna. The city was build between 150 and 600 ad without use of animals and/or other tools. Incredible! With Frauke we try to visit the museum of Frida Kahlo in the afternoon but the waitingline is 4 hours so we decide to visit the Coyoacan area instead which has a nice square and market where I buy some fresh vegetables to make a pasta. With Frauke I visit Xochimilco the next day to sail on a boat through the canals (a must see according to Anneke :-)). With the metro it takes somewhat more than an hour to get there but it only costs 8 pesos. The negotiation for the boat starts at 500 pesos p.p. but we manage to get it down to 200 pesos p.p. for 1 hour. The boats are coloured in bright colours and carry a female names like Conchita, Gaby, Paola, Marian, etc. There are many boats with people, food and music. I can imagine why this is a favourite activity in the weekend for many Mexican and Anneke! We find a place with the best Mexican food since I arrived in Mexico, the tortillas are freshly baked and we are seated in between Mexican families. Also the market in Xochimilco is special. We talk to many people on our way and even end up in a pulque bar :-)

Happy to leave the big city and exchange it for smaller Oaxaca. Again a really pretty and colourful town and I am finally starting to feel better again. In the evening Frauke (we are still together :-)) go for dinner to treat ourselves. Unfortunately I get food poisoning... and am ill again... recovery is quick though and hope to be fully back on my feet tomorrow.

My journey will continue via the coast to San Cristobal, Palenque, Quetzaltenango and Antigua where I'll meet Suzanne. Really looking forward to that! For now I want to wish you all a happy, healthy and successful 2019, that all you dreams may come true! I will keep on living my dream for another 5 months :-)

Hasta luego!
Marielle

Actief sinds 26 April 2018
Verslag gelezen: 189
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7291

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Juli 2018 - 08 Juli 2019

One-Year-of-Freedom

14 Juni 2018 - 25 Juni 2018

Oerol

Landen bezocht: